THE LEGACY Hours: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM 1500 14th Street 806.791.2723 http://www.legacylubbock.com/ 4th ANNUAL SPLASH OF RED EXHIBIT January 27 –March 31, 2017 *ends Friday* The YWCA’s Legacy Event Center and The West
Hours: 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM
1500 14th Street 806.791.2723
4th ANNUAL SPLASH OF RED EXHIBIT
January 27 –March 31, 2017 *ends Friday*
The YWCA’s Legacy Event Center and The West Texas Watercolor Society is pleased to announce the 4th Annual Splash of Red Exhibit. Featured are over 40 paintings by local artists using the color red in either watercolor, acrylic, or mixed media formats. Patrons are encouraged to come by the Legacy from 9-5pm daily. A People’s Choice Award will be presented following the exhibit.
The Legacy Event Center is a beautiful venue for local artists to display their work and features various exhibits throughout the year. The West Texas Watercolor Society calls the Legacy its home and meets monthly to hone their talents through workshops and collaboration. In return, they host shows throughout the year and exhibit their work in ever-changing exhibits. The artwork and jewelry is also for sale with a portion going to the Legacy and the YWCA programs.
Year Around Event (2017)
1500 14th Street
BAYER MUSEUM OF AGRICULTURE The museum is open Tuesday-Saturday 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM year round. 1121 Canyon Lake Drive 806.744.3786 Guided Tours are $5.00. Reservations accepted at 806.744.3786 Agricultural machinery and artifacts, with
BAYER MUSEUM OF AGRICULTURE
The museum is open Tuesday-Saturday 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM year round.
1121 Canyon Lake Drive 806.744.3786
Guided Tours are $5.00. Reservations accepted at 806.744.3786
Agricultural machinery and artifacts, with exhibits dating to the pioneering years of agriculture on the South Plains. Exhibits include horse-drawn plows, planters, and cultivators, restored tractors and equipment, and household items.
The Bayer Museum of Agriculture takes you from horse drawn implements to the tech-Savvy, computer GPS, driven equipment and farmers of today.
The Alton Brazell Exhibit Hall contains the museum’s large collection of historic farming artifacts. From restored antique tractors to harvesting equipment, highlights include and interactive Blacksmith Shop, a history of cotton ginning exhibit, and the largest display of pedal tractors in the United States.
The Central Exhibit hall features the Crops: Harvesting the Facts exhibit about the major crops grown in the United States, The Cotton Harvesting Experience, and the Bayer Crop Science Exhibit. These exhibits are interactive with a focus on modern agriculture, its science and practices.
In the early 1930’s, to spur the economy from the depression and help American farmers, President Roosevelt and his administration, started “The Ropes Project” and/or “The Colony”. This area was an area of approximately 16,000 acres northwest of Ropesville, Texas. Approximately 77 families received, by a lottery system, a farm ranging from approximately 120-200 acres. It included a framed two-bedroom house of approximately 792 square feet, a windmill, and a barn. This house is one of the last original houses from the project. Future plans include the addition of a windmill, chicken coop and grainary.
House donated by Larry and Rebecca Smith in loving memory of Mildred Knight Server.
Outdoor Exhibits: A real working pivot irrigation system and a historic 1930s farmstead can be found among the tractors and machines showcased in our outdoor exhibits.
The BMA is the perfect place for your next event. The Plains Cotton Growers Conference center is complete with catering kitchen and seating for 300.
Grace’s General Store
The farm theme of GRACE’S GENERAL STORE has unique gifts and home décor. Great for your gift giving and home decorating needs.
Our General Store, named after Grace Hurst, will make you feel nostalgic for old time things you remember at you grandmother’s house. From Colonial Tin Works we offer wax warmers in several styles of yesteryear. With wax melt choices like mulled Cider, Fresh Oranges, Vanilla Bean and all the favorite fragrances, to keep you house or business smelling fragrant. We even carry vintage totes, with pockets, to carry your laptop and essentials.
For the farmers in your life, we have John Deere caps in toddler, youth and adult sizes. Several styles are available for children and adults. We offer John Deere toy tractors, combines, coloring books and children’s CDs.
The store offers a wide variety of books from informational, about several brands of tractors to Tractor Mac storybooks for children. Old Time stories and illustrations by Bob Artley, include memories of a Farm Kitchen and several other favorites. Unique cookbooks including one from the original residents of the Ropesville Resettlement Project, make interesting gifts for friends or loved ones. And museum T-shirts, we have plenty of those in all sizes to pick from as well. Stop by and shop for that special gift!
Joining the BMA helps us preserve our agricultural heritage for future generations. Benefits include free admission and quarterly invitations for special events. While maintaining strong relationships with both the city and county of Lubbock, the Bayer Museum of Agriculture is a private museum funded through donations, grants, and membership dues. Members receive many benefits while helping to preserve our agricultural heritage through their donations. If you are interested in preserving our agricultural history please fill out the form and become a part of this great organization.
BUDDY HOLLY CENTER 1801 Crickets Avenue 806.775.3560 Hours of operation: Tuesday-Saturday 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Sunday 1:00 – 5:00 PM Closed Mondays and City Holidays. General Admission: $8; Senior citizens (60 and
BUDDY HOLLY CENTER
1801 Crickets Avenue 806.775.3560
Hours of operation: Tuesday-Saturday 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM Sunday 1:00 – 5:00 PM Closed Mondays and City Holidays.
General Admission: $8; Senior citizens (60 and older) $6, Children ages 7-17 $5; Students with valid college ID $5, Members Free, Active Military with ID Free. Free Admission to the Fine Arts & Foyer Galleries.
The Buddy Holly Gallery features a permanent exhibition on the life and music of Buddy Holly. Artifacts owned by the City of Lubbock, as well as other items that are on loan, are presented in this exciting exhibition. Included in the display are Buddy Holly’s Fender Stratocaster; a song book used by Holly and the Crickets, clothing, photographs, recording contracts, tour itineraries, Holly’s glasses, homework assignments, report cards, and much more
The Buddy Holly Center is partnering with The Buddy Holly Educational Foundation headquartered in London, England, to open a new permanent exhibition in the Center’s Foyer Gallery beginning on Friday, February 3, 2017.
The exhibition will feature an exact replica of Buddy’s Model J200 Gibson guitar signed by legendary performer Sir Paul McCartney, and numerous framed certificates signed by the many Foundation musical ambassadors who recognize Buddy Holly’s inspirational musical influence in the early years of Rock and Roll. The mission of The Buddy Holly Educational Foundation is to honor Buddy’s legacy as well as to make Buddy and Maria Elena Holly’s dream of extending musical education, including songwriting, production, arranging, orchestration, and performance, to new generations regardless of income or ethnicity or learning levels. We will empower a new generation to follow in Buddy’s footsteps.
The Foundation will periodically lend additional items for the exhibition from its extensive collection of artifacts. The Center will use this opportunity to display other items from its collection, namely, Buddy’s bedroom furniture, acquired by the Center through the auspices of Civic Lubbock, Inc.
ABOUT THE CENTER
The Buddy Holly Center features 2,500 square feet of gallery space dedicated to the presentation of changing contemporary visual arts programs. These exhibitions are a continuation of a tradition of quality initiatives that were presented by the Lubbock Fine Arts Center from 1984 – 1998. With the relocation of the Fine Arts Center to the Buddy Holly Center in 1999, we continue the commitment to present challenging visual arts exhibitions that serve as a crucial resource for showcasing contemporary arts of the region and the nation.
Art is a form of communication independent of language… It is a way of manifesting human uniqueness. It is a way of reminding us that life is infinitely fragile, infinitely precious. – Norman Cousins
The Buddy Holly Center, a historical site, has dual missions; preserving, collecting and promoting the legacy of Buddy Holly and the music of Lubbock and West Texas, as well as providing exhibits on Contemporary Visual Arts and Music, for the purpose of educating and entertaining the public. The vision of the Buddy Holly Center is to discover art through music by celebrating legacy, culture and community.
Exhibitions and programs reflect the diverse cultural characteristics of the region and encourage interaction between artists and the community. The Center collects, preserves and interprets artifacts relevant to Lubbock’s most famous native son, Buddy Holly, as well as to other performing artists and musicians of West Texas. Changing exhibitions in the visual arts provide an arena for celebrating the technical virtuosity and creative talents of fine artists at work in a region distinguished by vast distances and a rich tradition of creative resources.
The West Texas Walk of Fame, featuring the Buddy Holly statue, by sculptor Grant Speed, is located inside the Buddy and Maria Elena Holly Plaza, just west of the Center, on the corner of Crickets Avenue and 19th Street. The Plaza is open to the public dawn to dusk, year round. The West Texas Walk of Fame, and its induction process, are a project of Civic Lubbock, Inc.
J.I. ALLISON HOUSE
The J.I. Allison House opened on the grounds of the Buddy Holly Center in 2013. It is the home where J.I. Allison, drummer of the band “The Crickets,” lived as a teenager and where he and Buddy Holly wrote many hits including, “That’ll Be the Day.”
J.I. Allison house tour times: Tuesday-Saturday 11 AM and 1:00 and 3:00 PM; Sunday 3:00 PM
Contact the Center for questions regarding tours. 806.775.3562
BUDDY HOLLY STATUE, WEST TEXAS WALK OF FAME, AND BUDDY & MARIA ELENA HOLLY PLAZA
19TH Street and Crickets Avenue (directly across the street from the Buddy Holly Center) 806.775.3560
Through membership support the Buddy Holly Center has accomplished numerous musical and artistic endeavors. The Center’s exhibitions and programs enhance the quality of life for the region and aid economic development and tourism. Financial support for the Center is provided by membership, individual and organizational contributions. Our commitment to creating learning opportunities for people of all ages and backgrounds is made possible by public support. Exhibition tours, outreach programs, educational initiatives and family activities will continue to be the focus for future events. We invite you to join us in supporting public interest in contemporary visual arts and in the music and music history of Texas and West Texas.
EDUCATION AND OUTREACH
Year Around Event (2017)
BUDDY HOLLY CENTER
1801 Crickets Avenue
NATIONAL RANCHING HERITAGE CENTER AT TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY 3121 Fourth Street 806.742.0498 Experience the real West. The NRHC is a museum and historical park located on the Texas Tech University campus. 48 historic
NATIONAL RANCHING HERITAGE CENTER AT TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY
3121 Fourth Street 806.742.0498
Experience the real West.
The NRHC is a museum and historical park located on the Texas Tech University campus. 48 historic ranch buildings and exhibits from the late 1700’s to the early 1900’s. Buildings include a cattle baron’s home, ranch headquarters, dugouts, bunkhouse and a one-room school house that have been moved from their original location and restored at the museum.
The NRHC is open: Monday through Saturday 10:00 AM–5:00 PM. Sunday 1:00 – 5:00 PM. The outdoor portion of the NRHC closes at 4:00 PM each day. No park entry after 3:30 PM. The NRHC will be closed for all Texas Tech University holidays as well.
There is no admission fee, although donations are accepted.
Please visit our website at www.nrhc.ttu.edu for additional information and a complete list of special events and programs.
CURRENT EXHIBITS – NATIONAL RANCHING HERITAGE CENTER: –
ACROSS TIME AND TERRITORY: THE NRHC STORY
“Across Time and Territory: the National Ranching Heritage Center Story,” is a permanent exhibit covering the walls of the Don and Kay Cash Reception Hall. Material in the exhibition is present in a mural form with 3-D enhancements. Also in this area are two touch-screen monitors featuring attractive photographs of the structures in the historical park, presented in a virtual tour format, along with educational information about each building, available in both English and Spanish suitable for adults and children.
WRITERS OF THE PURPLE SAGE
The exhibit title – “Writers of the Purple Sage” – is a word play on Zane Grey’s famous novel, “Riders of the Purple Sage.” Published in 1912, the novel set the pattern for the modern Western and sold over a million copies.
Owen Wister, who wrote “The Virginian: A Horseman of the Plains,” had his 1902 novel form the basis of four movies and a television series. Wister’s novel defined the Western genre and paved the way for such authors as Zane Grey, Louis L’Amour and Larry McMurtry, all of whom are represented in this exhibit.
Writers such as Willa Cather, J. Evetts Haley, Tom Lea and Elmer Kelton, to name a few, allowed every one of their readers a chance to experience the American West as it once was or might have been. Written in ordinary language about ordinary people and places, Western literature has become an important part of our national literary scope.
The permanent collection of the NRHC includes a wide range of Western and ranch-related books, many of which are first edition signed manuscripts that will be part of this exhibit.
BLUE STEVENS GALLERY
The Blue Stevens Gallery is home to a collection of items that have been donated to the NRHC over the past several months. This Gallery features changing content as new items are donated to the NRHC.
LEVER ACTION RIFLES
An exhibit that examines the history and development of the lever-action rifle from its earliest form. The exhibit also features lever-action firearms from the NRHC collections.
A selection of saddles from the Texas Cattle Raisers Museum collection.
History of the National Ranching Heritage Center: http://www.depts.ttu.edu/nrhc/about/history/index.php
Proctor Historical Park
Devitt Mallet Museum
J.J. Gibson Memorial Park
Year Around Event (2017)
NATIONAL RANCHING HERITAGE CENTER
3121 4th Street